Department of Neurosurgery

Contacts

E-mail: neurosurgery@mf.mu-plovdiv.bg
Phone: +359 32 602339

Education

Preparation and instructions for semestrial online examination in Neurosurgery

  • Instructions for semestrial online examination in Neurosurgery
  • Exam checklist for students
  • Conspectus for Examination in Neurosurgery
  • Fundamentals of Neurosurgery
  • Curriculum

  • Neurosurgery
  • Lecture course

    Since its establishment, the Department of Neurosurgery has proven to be one of the leading educational centers for neurosurgery in the country. The curriculum in neurosurgery includes:

    • Teaching of native and English-speaking students from 4th and 5th year. The course of neurosurgery includes 10 lectures and 10 tutorials.
    • The rotation in Neurosurgery for final year students lasts 7 days. Students are required to prepare topics from different fields of neurosurgery and take part in seminars and stimulated to acquire some practical skills in the field.
    • The Department of Neurosurgery is also accredited center for education of residents from other medical specialties.
    • The future physicians are able to observe modern surgical procedures, get familiar with modern imaging studies and basic urgent conditions in neurosurgery.

    The Department have published two handbooks for medical students in Bulgarian and English language

    Academic Staff

    Head of Department of Neurosurgery:
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Simeon Petkov (1992 – 1993)
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Borislav Kitov (1994 – 1995)
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Yanko Kumtchev (1995 – 2010)
    Prof. Dr. Borislav Kitov (2010 – 2020)
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ivo Kehayov (2020 – currently)

    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ivo Kehayov PhD – Head of Department

    Email: Ivo.Kehayov@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Prof. Dr. Hristo Zhelyazkov PhD

    Email: Hristo.Zhelyzkov@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Assist. Prof. Dr. Atanas Davarski PhD – Chief of Science and Research Activities

    Email: Atanas.Davarski@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Assist. Prof. Dr. Aneta Petkova PhD – Chief of Quality Management and Accreditation, International Cooperation and Project Activity and Online Education

    Email: Aneta.Petkova@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Assistant Dr. Borislav Kalnev – Chief of Fire Safety

    Email: Borislav.Kalnev@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Assistant Dr. Ivan Batakliev

    Email: Ivan.Batakliev@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Assistant Dr. Mihail Kalnev – Chief of Labor Safety and Website Maintenance

    Email: Mihail.Kalnev@mu-plovdiv.bg

    Research

    The scientific interests of the Department of Neurosurgery are focused on:

    • Diagnostics and contemporary treatment of spine and spinal cord diseases such as spine injuries, spinal metastasis, degenerative spine disease, spinal spondylodiscitis and abscess, spinal tumors
    • Cognitive impairments in patients with brain tumors
    • Diagnostics and treatment of craniofacial malformations
    • Prognostic immune markers in patients with glioblastoma
    • Diagnostic and treatment of head injuries

    Textbooks

    Publications

    Monographs

    Dissertations